Posted in Kids Ministry

Teaching bible verse to kids – Jesus Calms the Storm

Lesson: God Gives…The Gift of Peace

Aim: That the children will know that because Jesus actually LIVES IN US, WE CAN TRUST Him at all times.To care for us and gives us peace in times of trouble.

Opening idea: For more interaction with the kids, I asked them if they ever experience storm or thunder. As expected they are all excited to answer. Some said when they visited Philippines and its rainy season. Then, I asked them how do they feel/react every time they can hear thunder? Most of them said they were scared while some of them co-sleep with their parents. Lastly, I asked them if they think that Jesus can calm the storm? Seeing their puzzled faces, I knew I hit the button right.

Kids loves visual demonstration so I always opted of creating something special to make it more appealing to them.

20130331-122045.jpg

20130331-122019.jpg

Story: Jesus calms the storm (Mark 4: 35- 41)

Some of the highlights of the story that needs to be stress out to the kids are:

  • Jesus invite his disciples and decided to cross the lake
  • It was calm when they set sail, but a sudden storm hit the boat. The sea waves was so rough that the waves were crashing over the boat, filling it with water.
  • Since Jesus was very tired after a full day of walking and preaching, he slept in the boat and did not wake when the storm hit.
  • The disciples were very frightened.

At this stage, I paused for a while to involve the kids by asking them question- What if they were the disciples what do they think would do. Some said that they will pray, some said they will call Jesus. After hearing their answers, I proceeded.

  • The disciples thought Jesus didn’t care and they woke him up.
  • Jesus awoke and spoke to the wind then He spoke to the sea and the storms became calm.

20130331-122113.jpg

For memory verse – I prepared a simple craft. Origami boat craft fit well for the story. To be honest, I really don’t know how to do origami craft but the night before I watched it you tube para I can teach the kids. Oh Yes, The kids went crazy when I told them that we will make a boat out of paper. Hubby was with me so he helped me in assisting the kids.

20130331-122144.jpg

20130331-122221.jpg

20130331-122256.jpg

20130331-122313.jpg

Leave a Reply

