Posted in Cook's Nook, Family matters, Married Life

Cook’s nook: Zucchini Fritters

I have to say, I have a love/hate relationship with vegetables. I know how healthy and they’re good for me and I should learn to love them, but often times I just can’t eat them.

Okay let me put it this way. I can eat eggplant, in fact I like eggplant omelette but putting eggplant in Sinigang is a big NO for me. Oh yeah I am also eating squash but only if I will mashed it in my rice.Same with potatoes while I love nibbling french fries still I can’t eat them on Nilaga,Mechado or Menudo. Weird noh?

But thanks to hubby who always initiates of serving vegetable dish on our table.While I can’t justify to hubby that it’s not my fault why the little boy is a bit picky eater at least I am now trying my best to serve a healthy dishes for them.

Lately instead of frying the dishes I’d rather baked them for a healthier version. This healthy meal of zucchini,onion, and parsley will surely be enjoyed by the entire family as it is made more savory with Sour Cream and Garlic Mayo dip.

This recipe is very easy to follow but make sure after you grate the zucchini and onion, to squeeze out the excess liquid. It will help keep the fritters nice and crisp.

Make breakfast, lunch, and dinner meals more exciting with a flavorful zucchini fritters that goes well with steaming rice.

Zucchini Fitters:

2 large zucchini, grated

1 small red onion, grated

1 teaspoon of fresh parsley

1/2 cup flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

1 tablespoon of milk

1 egg

Directions:

Heat oven to 425°F. With a grater, grate zucchini and onion. Place grated zucchini and onion in paper towel or kitchen towel and squeeze out liquid. Add to a bowl and combine fresh parsley,flour, salt, pepper, milk and egg, mix well.

Drop small to medium-sized rounds on a lightly greased baking sheet. Bake for 16-20 minutes, depending on the size of your fritters. Then flip and bake for another 10 minutes until golden brown on each side. Enjoy with sour cream and garlic mayonnaise or preferred sauce.

One thought on “Cook’s nook: Zucchini Fritters

Leave a Reply

